In the classic 1961 film Breakfast at Tiffany’s, Holly Golightly (Audrey Hepburn) explains how Tiffany’s makes her feel happy—that nothing bad could ever happen at Tiffany’s.  “If I could find a reallife place that’d make me feel like Tiffany’s, thenthen I’d buy some furniture and give the cat a name!”

To me, I think of the Disney parks like Holly Golightly thinks of Tiffany’s. When I enter the gates of a Disney theme park, I enjoy myself and forget about everything that weighs heavily on my mind. There’s something about the sights, sounds, smells, and bursts of color throughout the parks that causes me to refocus on the here and now. It’s exciting to forget about life for a while. When you go to a Disney theme park you leave your age and calories behind. Since I’m dedicating my life to accomplishing my Tick Tock list (see my original blog post), you’ll understand why I feel the need to have fun again, and breathe life back into life. Spending some time at Walt Disney World is #3 on my Tick Tock list!

I’ve been to Walt Disney World only once. I was traveling for business and had a brief opportunity to pop into Epcot and the Magic Kingdom. It went by so quickly that I feel like I don’t have any memories to reminisce about. I remember the rain, and gorging myself at Biergarten Restaurant in Epcot. But that’s it.

Sure, having grown up in California and at one point working at Disneyland, I’m always going to be partial to the original, but there’s something so grand about Walt Disney World that I haven’t been able to experience. I want to be in the position where I can take it all in. See everything, do everything, and do it with class and style.

 

For those of you who are familiar with the Disney parks, you’ll know that there’s so much to do and squeezing it into one trip is a challenge. I’ll accept that I can’t have a vacation with all the trimmings. I’m a realistic woman and willing to compromise! So my Tick Tock List #3  for Walt Disney World will include:

  1. Create memories. I mean, honest to goodness memories. I’d love to be able to experience the magic with my nieces and see their eyes light up just as mine did when I was their age.
  2. A character dining experience. Yes, I’m going ask for autographs too–under the guise of “it’s for my niece”.
  3. Make a mad dash to as many attractions as possible.
  4. Get a picture with Mickey and Minnie.
  5. Have a cocktail–somewhere…anywhere. Dear God, just give me a cocktail.
  6. Attend a few shows.
  7. Watch the Country Bear Jamboree (brings back memories).
  8. Eat myself into oblivion (I’ll take any Mickey Mouse ear-shaped treat any day!).

My family and I are planning a trip to Walt Disney World this year. We’ll be traveling with the little ones, and I can’t wait to see their eyes when they gaze upon the castle in the Magic Kingdom or meet their favorite princess (Elsa and Anna are the princesses du jour right now). So look at Walt Disney World! Here I come!

Tick Tock Deadline: End of October 2016

Tick Tock Challenge: Say thank you to someone in a meaningful way. Express gratitude often throughout the week.

What’s on your Tick Tock list? Comment below!

